Monday, December 27, 2021

Sunday, December 26, 2021

Gale Force Arrival - Arthur M Anderson arrived in Duluth 12/26/2021

Arthur M Anderson surfed its way through the Duluth Shipping Canal on the leading edge of a fresh winter storm.

Saturday, December 25, 2021

Thursday, December 23, 2021

Monday, December 20, 2021

Saturday, December 18, 2021

Monday, December 13, 2021

Tug Meredith Ashton departed Duluth 12/13/2021

Tug, Meredith Ashton, left Port Terminal, towing her empty barge astern on a short towline. Once outside the piers, Meredith Ashton made a sharp turn to starboard and lengthened the towline for the trip across the Lake Superior. 

American Century arrived in Duluth 12/13/2021

American Century arrived in Duluth this morning to load coal.

Sunday, December 12, 2021

Thursday, December 9, 2021

Tuesday, December 7, 2021

CSL TADOUSSAC departed, Stewart J Cort arrived in Superior 12/7/2021

CSL TADOUSSAC departed, Stewart J Cort arrived in Superior this morning.

Sunrise in the Sea Smoke - 12/7/2021

A combination of cold air and relatively warm water creates the rising vapor called sea smoke. It is an incredible scene to watch and only happens a few days a year. This timelapse captures the December sunrise as it climbs above the smoky waters.

Sea Smoke & Freighters - The Federal Clyde departed, Gardno arrived in D...

Federal Clyde departed, Gardno arrived in Duluth this evening through heavy sea smoke.

Saturday, December 4, 2021

Thursday, December 2, 2021

Joseph L Block, Paul R Tregurtha, American Century in Duluth 12/02/2021

Joseph L Block departed with iron ore pellets, Paul R Tregurtha arrived for coal, American Century arrived for iron ore pellets.

Saturday, November 27, 2021

James R Barker arrived in Duluth 11/27/2021

James R Barker arrived in Duluth this morning with a loud Master Salute to load iron ore pellets.

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Sunday, November 21, 2021

Presque Isle departed Duluth 11/21/2021

Presque Isle departed Duluth this morning for Two Harbors. (after the winds die down)

Fairlawn Cam Fundraiser

Fairlawn Mansion Project

View from turret
We have an opportunity to work with Fairlawn management and the EPA to install a new camera on the turret of Fairlawn Mansion located across from Barkers Island in Superior Wisconsin.  This will provide an interesting view of the harbor that is not covered by the existing harborcams.
Update: 12/28/2021 - Complete

Update: 11/21/2021  - I have received the new camera and will be programming it this week. 

Update 10/22/2021 - After searching the U.S. for the camera a want, I finally found one to order in Canada with a lead time of 6-10 weeks.  It appears like it will be a Springtime project now.

The supply chain links are creating massive delays.  Better get your Christmas Shopping done soon.

Den

Update 10/15/2021 - Camera fundraising complete
  • Order equipment-pending
  • Program camera-pending
  • Install wiring-pending
  • Install camera-pending
  • Program router-pending
  • Install camera streaming app-pending
  • Connect to YouTube Live-pending
  • Enjoy the view!- pending

Thursday, November 18, 2021

Thursday, November 11, 2021

Saturday, November 6, 2021

Wednesday, November 3, 2021

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

Friday, October 29, 2021

John D Leitch arrived in Duluth 10/28/2021

John D Leitch arrived in Duluth overnight to load iron ore pellets.

Update: Two Harbors Boat Launch Cam outage

 FYI,  The Two Harbors Boat Launch Cam went offline yesterday.  It looks like I will have to get up there next week to take a closer look. I will keep you posted.


Den

Thursday, October 28, 2021

Thursday, October 21, 2021

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

Tuesday, October 19, 2021

James R Barker arrived in Duluth 10/19/2021

James R Barker arrived in Duluth this morning after turning around for an unknown issue.

Sunday, October 17, 2021

Saturday, October 16, 2021

Friday, October 15, 2021

CSL TADOUSSAC arrived in Two Harbors 10/15/2021

CSL TADOUSSAC arrived in Two Harbors this afternoon using a wifferdill turn ( usually an aviation maneuver) as it backed into the harbor to the entertainment of the tourists on the break wall.

Fairlawn Cam Fundraiser Honor Roll

The Fundraiser for the new Fairlawn Cam is complete. Thank you to those who donated and those who support this channel in many other ways.

John G Munson arrived in Duluth 10/14/2021

John G Munson arrived in Duluth Thursday evening to load iron pellets.

Sunday, October 10, 2021

Lightning Storm over Lake Superior 10/10/2021 (Part 2)

A powerful thunderstorm over Lake Superior produces an incredible light show from Canal Park in Duluth this evening.

Lightning Storm over Lake Superior 10/10/2021 (Part 1)

A powerful thunderstorm over Lake Superior produces an incredible light show from Canal Park in Duluth this evening.

Paul R Tregurtha, Dorothy Ann arrived, Mesabi Miner departed Duluth 10/1...

Paul R Tregurtha (for coal), Dorothy Ann arrived (for salt), Mesabi Miner (with iron pellets) departed Duluth this afternoon.

Wednesday, October 6, 2021

Tuesday, October 5, 2021

Saturday, September 25, 2021

Friday, September 24, 2021

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Monday, September 13, 2021

Sunday, September 12, 2021

Friday, September 10, 2021

Thursday, September 9, 2021

Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Monday, August 30, 2021

CLYDE S.VANENKEVORT/Erie Trader arrived in Duluth 08/30/2021

CLYDE S.VANENKEVORT/Erie Trader arrived in Duluth this afternoon to load iron pellets.

American Integrity departed Duluth 08/30/2021

American Integrity departed Duluth this afternoon loaded with iron ore pellets.

Mesabi Miner "near-grounding" departing Duluth 8/29/2021

Take a right at Pier B! For some reason, the 1000ft Mesabi Miner was not able to negotiate the turn into the Duluth shipping Canal Sunday afternoon and stopped to realign with the canal. There could be any number of reasons such as small boat traffic, mechanical failure, strong currents, etc --- all speculation at this point. Glad to see them quickly get back on course without damage

Tuesday, August 24, 2021

Overnight shipping - 08/24/2021

Overnight shipping included American Integrity, Paul R Tregurtha, Presque Isle, Lee A Tregurtha, Great Republic.

Wednesday, August 18, 2021

Tuesday, August 17, 2021

Monday, August 9, 2021

Trans Superior Race Winner - Stripes--- 08/09/2021

After a weekend of racing 350 miles across Lake Superior, the sailboat "Stripes" finished first among the 40 yachts at participated.

James R Barker arrived in Duluth 08/09/2021

James R Barker arrived in Duluth this morning to load iron ore pellets.

Saturday, August 7, 2021

Jaws -- Dredging off the Duluth Canal (Timelapse) 08/06/2021

Sand is being moved back onto the beach at Park Point after being washed into the lake by storms several years ago.

Friday, August 6, 2021

Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Edgar B Speer arrived in Duluth 07/27/2021

Edgar B Speer arrived in Duluth this afternoon to take a rest break before going up to Two Harbors.

Canal Park Storm 07/26/2021 - time-lapse

Storm Front - James R Barker departing Two Harbors 07/26/2021

The 1000 ft James R Barker got caught in a summer storm as it was backing out of the Two Harbors ore docks Monday evening. This video runs until the power went out as the storm front hit. There was no damage to the Barker and it went on its way. The red smoke is actually ore dust being blown from the docks.

Saturday, July 24, 2021

Friday, July 23, 2021

Monday, July 12, 2021

Monday, July 5, 2021

Federal Dee arrived in Duluth 07/05/2021

Federal Dee arrived in Duluth this evening loaded with cement

Herbert C Jackson arrived in Duluth 07/05/2021

Herbert C Jackson arrived in Duluth this afternoon loaded with limestone.

Duluth 2021 July 4th Fireworks Display

"We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal; that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights; that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness". - Thomas Jefferson

Saturday, July 3, 2021

Friday, July 2, 2021

Paul R Tregurtha departed 07/02/2021

Paul R Tregurtha departed Duluth early this morning. This is the final trip for Captain Bob Thibaudeau, senior-most captain in his 42nd season sailing with Interlake. Have a great retirement Captain Bob.

Friday, June 25, 2021

Thursday, June 24, 2021

Lightning Storm Timelapse 06/24/2021

A powerful lightning storm swept across the area in the middle of the night last night, providing an incredible light show for those who got woken up by the wonderful display.