Friday, August 31, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 8/30/2012


Mesabi Miner arrived at 03:15
American Integrity departed at 05:25
Philip R. Clarke arrived at 05:57
American Courage arrived at 09:00
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. arrived at 10:15
American Courage departed at 17:35
Mesabi Miner departed at 19:40
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. departed at 21:45

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 8/29/2012


American Integrity arrived at 06:15
American Century arrived at 07:25
Miss Laura departed at 17:30
American Century departed at 18:05

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Boat Traffic for Tuesday 8/28/2012

Sorry, there was no boat traffic for Tuesday, however, I was able to replace the Harborcam.

Also, my wasp stings are pretty much healed up --- Can't wait till winter!

Thanks for all the concern.
Dennis

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Notice: Harborcam Intermittent

One of the cameras (Harborcam) the one looking down the harbor had become intermittent. I will be checking this out later today.

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 8/27/2012

James R. Barker arrived at 11:30

Monday, August 27, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 8/26/2012


BBC Louisiana (Ant) arrived at 11:15
Cason J. Callaway arrived at 12:25

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Ouch! A warning in Real Life!

The woods are very dry now and with people out  helping repair trails around the area I thought I would share a rather painful experience that I encountered last evening.

Since it was a nice evening, I took my chainsaw out to clear out a couple trees that has fallen over in a swamp just behind my garage in a dried up swamp.

After about 5 minutes of work, I disturbed a wasp nest which in turn sent many of the rather angry critters after me.  A realized what I had done after the first couple stings and dropped my chainsaw and headed back to the house.  Stumbling over a few logs on the way to the house I realized that the swarm wasn't going to let me off by just getting out of the area.

I was stung as I headed to the house and continued to be stung when I was in the house by wasps that must have been hanging on my shirt and pants. Since I had never been stung before, I was concerned that I might have an allergic reaction, so, with no one else home, I headed over to a neighbors house in case I did have a reaction.

Fortunately, I did not have a reaction, however, by the time I had taken my shirt off to ditch the last few wasps, I had received  many painful stings.  My neighbor drove me to a nearby Ready-Care Center. The doctor quit counting the stings after about 20 and I was given a prescription for some pain killer and sent on my way.  I have to say, the stings were so painful, it felt like I was still being stung every minute.

Upon returning home from Ready-Care there was still a half -dozen of the wasps hanging around inside the house, fortunately, they has settled down enough to be taken out with a fly swatter.

Today, I am on the mend, but, I just want to remind you of the dangers of this time of year.  

I was so blessed that I did not have an allergic reaction and that no one else was with me to be stung.  I don't think I would have made it as far as the house had a reaction occurred.

I think I will wait until the weather cools off before retrieving my chainsaw, somehow I lost interest in the trail clearing for now.

Friends, please take care if you go off trail and perhaps even wait till frost is on the ground once again.

Enjoy the rest of summer - safely!

Dennis



Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 8/25/2012

Indiana Harbor departed at 01:25
Joseph L. Block departed at 03:35
Cedarglen (CA) arrived at 06:50
Lee A. Tregurtha departed at 14:00
Cedarglen (CA) departed at 20:50

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 8/24/2012


Lee A. Tregurtha arrived at 07:34
Virginiaborg (Dutch) departed at 10:45
Peter R. Cresswell departed at 11:45
Herbert C. Jackson departed at 11:55
Indiana Harbor arrived at 13:35

Friday, August 24, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 8/23/2012


American Century departed at 05:15
Herbert C. Jackson arrived at 12:20
CSL Laurentien arrived at 14:30
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. departed at 15:05
American Spirit departed at 19:45
Peter R. Cresswell arrived at 20:10
Joseph L. Block arrived at 21:15
CSL Laurentien departed at 21:50

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 8/22/2012


Algoma Quebecois departed at 06:41
American Century arrived at 07:07
Alpena arrived at 10:00
American Spirit arrived at 13:55
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. arrived at 17:10
Saguenay departed at 18:40
Virginiaborg arrive at 21:30

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 8/21/2012


James R. Barker arrived at 11:35
Han Xin (HK) departed at 16:55
Saguenay arrived at 20:40
James R. Barker departed at 22:30

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 8/20/2012

American Mariner departed at 21:45

Monday, August 20, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 8/19/2012


Algoma Navigator departed at 02:12
Rt. Hon. Paul J. Martin arrived at 04:23
Algolake arrived at 05:19
H. Lee White arrived at 06:57
James R. Barker departed at 11:25
Algoma Quebecois arrived at 13:35
Algolake departed at 14:00
H. Lee White departed at 16:00
CSL Niagara arrived at 17:13
Philip R. Clarke departed at 18:30
Han Xin (HK) arrived Duluth at 18:50
Rt. Hon. Paul J. Martin departed at 19:50
John G. Munson departed at 20:25

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 8/18/2012


Kaministiqua departed at 05:11
Algoma Navigator arrived at 10:20
John G. Munson arrived at 20:30
Philip R. Clarke  arrived at 22:20
American Mariner arrived at 22:40
James R. Barker  arrived at 22:50

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 8/18/2012

Duluth Entry
Ever wonder what a boat crew sees as it enters the Duluth Canal?

Indiana Harbor arrived at 06:15
Kaministiqua arrived at 16:15
Indiana Harbor departed at 17:20

Friday, August 17, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 8/16/2012

Indiana Harbor arriving this morning at 6AM
James R. Barker departed at 06:04
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. arrived at 11:55
Sundew departed at 20:05
Sundew arrived at 20:30
Walter J. McCarthy Jr.departed at 23:55

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 8/15/2012


Cason J. Callaway departed at 00:50
Michipicoten arrived at 02:35
Michipicoten departed at 10:05
Garganey (HK) departed at 18:55
James R. Barker arrived at 20:20

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 8/14/2012

Garganey (HK)
Algosoo arrived Duluth at 06:59
American Century departed at 12:13
Champion /Kokosing 1 arrived at 14:10
Garganey (HK) arrived at 16:15
Algosoo departed at 20:25

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Duluth Harbor oat Traffic for Monday 8/13/2012


Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort departed at 01:50
Birchglen (CA) departed at 08:10
American Century arrived at 09:10
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 18:35
Joseph L. Block departed at 21:05
Cason J. Callaway arrived at 23:30
Hon. James L. Oberstar departed at 23:45

Monday, August 13, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 8/12/2012


Joseph L. Block (US) arrived at 01:50
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort arrived at 17:40
Birchglen (CA) arrived at 18:20
Hon. James L. Oberstar arrived Duluth at 19:50
Paul R. Tregurtha arrive at 22:15

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 8/11/2012


The Arthur M Anderson arrives through heavy boat traffic attending the Bayfront Blues Festival

Herbert C. Jackson departed at 00:33
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. departed at 10:40
Arthur M. Anderson arrived at 15:20

Saturday, August 11, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 8/10/2012

James R Barker Departure
Sundew Cruise


Lee A. Tregurtha departed at 05:35
James R. Barker departed at 05:58
Herbert C. Jackson arrived at 10:15
Sundew departed at 18:35
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. arrived at 18:45
Sundew arrived at 18:50

Friday, August 10, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 8/9/2012

Lee Tregurtha Departure this morning at 5:30AM

Great Republic arrived at 02:10
Cedarglen arrived at 07:47
Lee A. Tregurtha arrived at 12:30
Great Republic departed at 13:20
James R. Barker arrived at 15:15
Cedarglen departed at 20:40

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 8/7/2012


Saguenay departed at 06:14
American Integrity arrived at 06:54
Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 14:00
Alpena arrived at 16:45
American Integrity departed at 20:15
American Mariner departed at 20:40
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 23:50

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 8/6/2012


Cason J. Callaway arrived at 00:28
Saguenay (CA) arrived at 08:45
Cason J. Callaway departed at 10:55
Frontenac (CA ) departed at 12:25
American Mariner arrived at 18:55
Joseph H. Thompson departed at 19:50

Monday, August 6, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 8/5/2012

Frontenac Arrival


Mesabi Miner arrived at 01:33
American Century arrived at 05:18
Mesabi Miner departed at 13:17
Frontenac (CA) arrived at 16:30

Sunday, August 5, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 8/4/2012


CSL Laurentien arrived at 01:21
Indiana Harbor departed at 02:00
Michipicoten arrived at 06:05
Philip R. Clarke departed at 07:38
CSL Laurentien departed at 08:29
Michipicoten departed at 15:00

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 8/3/2012

Michipicoten arrival this morning at 6AM
Kaministiqua (CA) arrived at 05:05
John G. Munson departed at 07:45
Algoma Transport (CA ) departed at 11:00
Philip R. Clarke arrived at 13:20
Indiana Harbor arrived at 14:15
Kaministiqua (CA) departed at 14:45

Friday, August 3, 2012

August Full Moon - Full Sturgeon Moon


Full moon names date back to Native Americans, of what is now the northern and eastern United States. The tribes kept track of the seasons by giving distinctive names to each recurring full moon. Their names were applied to the entire month in which each occurred. There was some variation in the moon names, but in general, the same ones were current throughout the Algonquin tribes from New England to Lake Superior.

This August, there will be a second full moon on August 31st. This is rare, thus the name for the second full moon of the month - Blue Moon. So, the term "Once in a Blue Moon" is actually an accurate statement.

This photo was taken from the Lakewalk at 8:35PM last evening as the moon drifted behind the North Pier Lighthouse.

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 8/2/2012



H. Lee White arrived at 06:15
Champion /Kokosing 1 departed at 08:40
John G. Munson arrived at 18:45
H. Lee White departed at 22:20
Algoma Transport arrived at 22:40

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 8/1/2012


Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 05:00
Yorktown arrived at 05:55
Edwin H. Gott arrived at 11:20
American Integrity departed at 12:30
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 17:20
Yorktown departed at 20:30

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 7/31/2012


James R. Barker departed at 09:45
Great Republic departed at 10:10
American Integrity arrived at 11:10