Saturday, December 31, 2011

Happy New Year!

Well, its been a great 2011 for watching the harbor and I hope you have enjoyed watching the boat traffic as much as I have.

The Good Lord willing, I'll keep the cameras busy during 2012.

Have a Happy New Year!

Dennis

Duluth Harbor Boat traffic for Friday 12/30/2011

While there was no boat traffic for Friday, enjoy this slideshow from the Tall Ships visit last summer while you wait for more boats to arrive.

Friday, December 30, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 12/29/2011

CSL Tadoussac (CA ) departed Duluth at 08:02
Mesabi Miner (US ) departed Duluth at 08:43

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 12/28/2011

CSL Laurentien arrived at 07:22
John G. Munson     arrived at 16:00  Burlington Northern to load iron ore pellets.
CSL Laurentien     departed Duluth from DM&IR at19:30 17:00 Will anchor off Superior Entry waiting for CSL Niagara and then Burns Harbor to complete loading.

Winter Arrival - John G. Munson Arrival

The John G. Munson entered the Duluth Shipping Canal at 16:00 on Wednesday to load iron ore pellets.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 12/27/2011

American Century departed at 03:10
James R. Barker arrived at 06:37
Arthur M. Anderson departed at 12:20
James R. Barker departed at 17:30

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Paul R Tregutha Departure

The Paul R. Tregurtha leaves port under a colorful breaking dawn.


Duluth Harbor Traffic for Monday 12/26/2011

Hon. James L. Oberstar arrived at 00:30
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 07:45
Lee A. Tregurtha arrived at 09:01
Hon. James L. Oberstar departed at 12:00
Arthur M. Anderson arrived at 14:00
American Century arrived at 14:29

Monday, December 26, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 12/25/2011

While there was no boat traffic on Christmas Day, I will be tuning the cameras tonight at 6:30PM to watch the fireworks display at Bayfront Park.

Sunday, December 25, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 12/24/2011

Roger Blough departed at 02:45
Presque Isle arrived at 03:15
Manitowoc arrived Duluth at 15:30
Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 15:45
Manitowoc depart from DM&IR at 22:30

Saturday, December 24, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 12/23/2011

Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort arrived at 03:15
Roger Blough arrived at 04:35
Mesabi Miner arrived at 06:15
American Mariner departed at 11:30
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort departed at 13:10
Mesabi Miner depart from Midwest Energy at 18:30

Ghost Ship!

The Mesabi Miner quietly left port last evening barely noticed by the thousands of people visiting Bentleyville last evening. (picture taken from Inner Harbor Cam)


Friday, December 23, 2011

White Christmas at Bentleyville

The twinkling lights of Bentleyville are beautiful, but, when you add the newly fallen snow of today Bentleyville becomes a winter wonderland.

Merry Christmas!

Wishing all of my friends on duluthharborcam.com a very 
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 12/22/2011

James R. Barker departed  at 00:43
Salarium (CA) departed at 09:00
American Mariner arrived at 09:45

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 12/21/2011

James R. Barker arrived at 07:30
Mesabi Miner departed Duluth at 09:15
John J. Boland departed Duluth at 15:20
American Spirit arrive at 22:00 for Murphy Fuel Dock to load iron ore pellets
Salarium arrive from anchorage at 23:15

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 12/20/2011

 American Century departed at 09:00
John J. Boland   arrived at 20:00  for Midwest Energy to load coal
Mesabi Miner arrive at 21:00 for Midwest Energy to load coal

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Salties in Review!

As a reminder of the many Ocean Freighters that have visited the port this year, here is a short slideshow of the some of the Salties.

Farewell Salties!

The departure last night of the Erieborg marked the end of another shipping season for the ocean freighters visiting Duluth.
While the lakers will continue to come and go for a few more weeks, it's always a reminder when the last saltie leaves that the very cold weather is right around the corner.

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 12/19/2011

American Century arriveat 14:30 for DM&IR to load iron ore pellets
Erieborg departed from General Mills Duluth at 17:20. Departing with beat pulp pellets; This is the last ocean vessel of the season.

Monday, December 19, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 12/18/2011

American Integrity departed at 00:19
Erieborg (Dutch) arrived at 04:37
Cason J. Callaway arrived at 07:14
Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 07:33
James R. Barker departed at 09:21
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 17:30

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Duluth Harbor Traffic for Saturday 12/17/2011

American Integrity  arrived at 03:45
James R. Barker arrive at 20:30

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 12/16/2011

Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort departed at 02:50
Algolake (CA) arrived at 07:50
Mackinaw departed at 11:20

Friday, December 16, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 12/15/2011

Lee A. Tregurtha departed at 05:30
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort arrived at 06:50
Arthur M. Anderson departed at 12:05
Mackinaw arrive at 16:15

CGC Mackinaw

The Coast Guard Cutter Mackinaw was completing some sea trials of new equipment on Thursday. The beautiful red boat seemed appropriately colored for Christmas sailing.



Thursday, December 15, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 12/14/2011

Pay particular attention to the John D. Leitch departing the salt dock at 18:00. It is not too often that you see a boat actually back it's way out of the Duluth Shipping Canal.
Lee A. Tregurtha arrived at 02:25
John D. Leitch arrived at 05:07 to unload salt
American Century departed at 06:20
Algowood departed at 11:35
John D. Leitch departed at 18:00

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 12/13/2011

Alder arrived at 14:20
Sofia departed at 16:50
American Century arrived at 20:55 for Midwest Energy to load coal
Algowood arrive at 21:10 for DM&IR to load iron ore pellets
Lake Ontario departed at 22:00
Arthur M. Anderson arrive at 23:30 for Cutler Stone to discharge limestone (Graymont).

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 12/12/2011

James R. Barker arrived at 01:30
Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 10:15
James R. Barker departed at 12:50
Edwin H. Gott departed at 13:45
Sofia arrived at 20:40
Zelada Desgagnes departed at 21:30    
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 23:30

Monday, December 12, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 12/11/2011

American Mariner arrived at 02:29
Philip R. Clarke departed at 03:32
Algosteel (CA) departed at 13:00
Biscayne Bay departed at 16:00
Zelada Desgagnes arrived at 17:30
American Mariner arrived at 02:29
Sofia arrived at 21:00
Edwin Gott arrived at 23:30

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Moonrise over the freighter Lake Ontario

The 605 foot freighter Lake Ontario waiting at anchor off the Duluth Piers made a perfect backdrop for a Superior Moonrise tonight.



Philip R Clarke Arrival

With the Full Moon rising, the Philip R Clarke entered the Duluth Harbor on Saturday evening.

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 12/10/11

American Integrity arrived at 02:55
American Integrity departed at 14:45
Philip R. Clarke arrived at 16:30
Algosteel arrived at 19:30

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Full Moon Over Split Rock Lighthouse

It is always fun to photography Split Rock Lighthouse, but, a Full Moon during the winter months is a special treat.
Tonights Full Moon was a joy to see.



Full Moon over Duluth

While there was no boat traffic yesterday, the December Full Moon made for a postcard view of the Zenith City.


Friday, December 9, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 12/8/2011

American Century arrived at 05:10
Drechtborg (Dutch) departed at 14:10
American Century (US) departed at 16:10
Moezelborg departed at 17:00
H. Lee White arrived at 19:30

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 12/7/2011

 Mesabi Miner departed at 08:25
Mackinaw arrived at 09:40
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 10:10

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Cuttter Mackinaw Arrives

The 240 foot long Coast Guard Cutter Mackinaw arrived in the Twin Ports today and docked at Frazer Shipyard in Superior to make some last minute preparations for the ice breaking season.

Control Deck - Click on picture to step inside

View more Pictures of the Mackinaw

 

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Tuesday 12/6/2011

Biscayne Bay departed Duluth at 11:05
Joseph L. Block departed Duluth at 14:20
Drechtborg arrived at 18:00
Resko departed at 18:10
Mesabi Miner arrived at 19:00
Paul R. Tregurtha arrive at 22:00

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Bentleyville 2011 "Tour of Lights"


Please Enjoy this years Bentleyville Tour of Lights!

Cutter Biscayne Bay

 The CGC Biscayne Bay visited Duluth today as it prepares for the the winter ice braking season on the Great Lakes.

The 140-foot Bay-class Cutters are state of the art icebreakers used primarily for domestic ice breaking duties. They are named after American Bays and are stationed mainly in Northeast U.S. and Great Lakes. 


Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Monday 12/5/2011

Algolake (CA ) departed Duluth at 07:00
Resko (Bah) arrived Duluth at 07:15
Edwin H. Gott (US ) departed Duluth at 11:15
American Integrity (US ) departed Duluth at 11:40
Joseph L. Block arrived at 17:40

Monday, December 5, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Sunday 12/4/2011

Moezelborg (Dutch) arrived at 02:00
John G. Munson arrived at 06:30
Edwin H. Gott arrive at 17:30
American Integrity arrived at 18:30
John G. Munson departed at 20:00
Algolake arrive at 20:30

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Saturday 12/3/11

Kwintebank (Dutch ) departed at 11:15
Herbert C. Jackson departed at 12:40

Saturday, December 3, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Friday 12/2/11

John J. Boland arrived at 02:40
Jette (Ant) departed at 12:00
Herbert C. Jackson arrived at 18:30

Friday, December 2, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Thursday 12/1/2011

Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 00:10
Arthur M. Anderson departed at 02:55
American Mariner depart at 21:00

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Duluth Harbor Boat Traffic for Wednesday 11/30/2011

Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort departed at 00:40
Mesabi Miner arrived at 07:15
Jette (Ant) arrived at 07:45
Paul R Tregutha arrived at 12:41
Arthur M. Anderson arrive at 18:30
American Mariner arrived at 18:30 
Kwintebank arrive at 19:30
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 22:00