Saturday, April 30, 2011

About the 1000 footers

In response to Tom's comment, here is some more information about the 1000 foot Lakers.
The largest vessels on the lake are the 1000-footers. These vessels are between 1000 and 1013.5 feet long, 105 feet wide and of 56 feet hull depth. They can carry as much 78,850 tons of bulk cargo although their loading is dependent on lake water levels especially in the channels and ports. A dozen of these giant ships were built, all constructed between 1976 and 1981, and all are still in service today.
List of 1000-footers on the Lakes

    Bulk freighters (self unloaders)
        American Integrity (1000'x105')
        American Spirit (1004'x105')
        American Century (1000'x105')
        Edgar B. Speer (1004'x105')
        Edwin H. Gott (1004'x105')
        James R. Barker (1004'x105') 1st standard construction 1000-footer
        Mesabi Miner (1004'x105')
        Paul R. Tregurtha (1013'6"x105') Largest vessel on Great Lakes
        Stewart J. Cort (1000'x105') 1st 1000 ft boat on the Lakes
        Burns Harbor (1000'x105')
        Indiana Harbor (1000'x105')
        Walter J. McCarthy Jr. (1000'x105')
    Tug/barge combination (ITB)
        Presque Isle (1000'x104'7") Only 1000 foot tug/barge unit

Harbor Traffic for Friday 4/29/11

American Century (US ) departed at 02:45
BBC Orinoco (Ant ) departed at 06:10
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort (US) arrived at 08:45
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort (US) departed at 16:15
James R. Barker (US ) departed at 17:51
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 19:15
BBC Oregon (Ant ) departed at 19:20

James R. Barker Departure

The James R. Barker which was built in 1976, is 1004 feet long. Here, the Barker, loaded with 54,000 tons of coal, lines up with the Duluth Shipping Canal as it leaves port.

This photo, taken from my photocopter, gives a good perspective of just how big this boat really is.

Friday, April 29, 2011

Harbor traffic for Thursday 4/28/2011

Arthur M. Anderson arrived at 00:55
Indiana Harbor arrived at 01:10
Manitowoc arrived at 05:45
American Century arrived at 13:15
Indiana Harbor departed at 13:40
Arthur M. Anderson departed at 15:45
James R. Barker arrived at 20:00
Federal Seto (Hong Kong) departed at 22:10
Manitowoc departed at 22:00

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Monday 4/25/11

Mesabi Miner (US) arrived at 01:59
Joseph L. Block (US) arrived at 07:15
Mesabi Miner (US) departed at 11:14
CSL Laurentien  arrived at 21:00
Montrealais expected to departed Duluth at 22:00 
Joseph L. Block departed at 23:55

Monday, April 25, 2011

Mesabi Miner Departure

The Mesabi Miner left port today loaded with a load of iron pellets.

Harbor Traffic for Sunday 4/24/2011

Eylul K (Turk) departed at 01:30
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 02:11
Lee A. Tregurtha (US ) departed at 02:27
BBC Oregon (Ant) arrived at 09:39
Cason J. Callaway (US) arrived at 13:30
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) departed at 14:30


Sunday, April 24, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Saturday 4/23/11

John G. Munson (US ) departed at 14:30
Lee A. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 16:23
Montrealais (CA) arrived at 19:30

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Friday 4/22/11

James R. Barker (US ) departed at 04:25
Nogat (Cyp) arrived Duluth at 09:40
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort (US) arrived at 10:20
Nogat (Cyp) departed at 12:25
John G. Munson (US) arrived at 14:45
Great Lakes Trader/Joyce L. Van Enkevort departed at 20:30


Friday, April 22, 2011

Camera Operation Question?

There have been a few report of visitors not seeing the 2nd and 3rd cameras on the row above.

If there is anyone else having this problem, please shoot me an email at: dohara@northernimages.com
The backup site is Northern Images.
Thanks,
Dennis

Harbor Traffic for Thursday 4/21/11

James R. Barker (US) arrived at 07:27
Eylul K (Turk) arrived at 15:35
J. W. Shelley (CA ) departed at 16:00

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Wednesday 4/20/11

American Integrity (US ) departed at 10:20

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Tuesday 4/19/11

Paul R. Tregurtha (US ) departed at 08:05
Herbert C. Jackson (US) arrived at 09:50
J. W. Shelley (CA) arrived at 10:20
Blacky (Cyp) arrived at 12:25
Mesabi Miner (US ) departed at 14:20
Blacky (Cyp) departed at 15:30
Herbert C. Jackson departed at 21:00
American Integrity arrived at 23:30

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Monday 04/18/11

Atlantic Erie (CA ) departed at 00:55
CSL Tadoussac (CA) arrived at 05:09
Arthur M. Anderson (US ) departed at 07:25
Philip R. Clarke (US ) departed at 07:48
Algoma Guardian (ex Goviken) (Bah ) departed at 16:35
Paul R. Tregurtha arrive at bet 23:30

Monday, April 18, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Sunday 4/17/2011

Philip R. Clarke (US) arrived at 00:48
Mesabi Miner (US ) departed at 02:18
American Spirit (US ) departed at 05:33
Arthur M. Anderson (US) arrived at 05:50
Atlantic Erie (CA) arrived at 13:40

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Harbor traffic for Saturday 4/16/2011

Cameras were obscured for part of the day due to snow showers.
James R. Barker (US ) departed at 08:21
Mesabi Miner (US) arrived at 14:00
American Spirit (US) arrived t 14:45
Algoma Guardian (ex Goviken) (Bah) arrived at 17:05

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Harbor traffic for Friday 4/15/11

High winds off Lake Superior kept most boats tied up in the harbor. A few ventured out into the storm however.

Friday, April 15, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Thursday 4/14/2011

Lee A. Tregurtha (US) departed at 02:45
Quebecois (CA ) departed at 06:35
American Mariner (US) arrived at 07:15
Aragonborg (Dutch) arrived at 08:05
Quebecois (CA) arrived Duluth at 16:25
Tim S. Dool depart at 20:00

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Wednesday 4/13/2011

Paul R. Tregurtha (US) departed at 04:22
Tim S. Dool (CA) arrived at 06:08
Lee A. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 08:05
Indiana Harbor (US) arrived at 08:22
Manitowoc (US) arrived at 10:50
CSL Laurentien (CA ) departed at 11:45
Algoma Spirit (CA ) departed at 15:40
Indiana Harbor depart at 19:30
Manitowoc depart at 19:30
Saguenay arrived at 21:30

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Tuesday 4/12/11

Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 16:30
Federal Leda departed at 20:00
CSL Laurentien arrived at 20:40
H. Lee White departed at 22:20
John G. Munson departed at 22:20

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Monday 4/11/2011

Herbert C. Jackson (US) arrived at 02:27
CSL Niagara (CA) arrived at 02:48
John G. Munson (US) arrived at 07:07
Federal Leda (Cyp) arrived at 07:16
Presque Isle (US) arrived at 07:39
Quebecois (CA) arrived at 16:45
CSL Niagara departed at 16:45
Herbert C. Jackson  departed at 17:30
Presque Isle (US) departed at 20:39

Monday, April 11, 2011

First Saltie Arrives -- Federal Leda

The Federal Leda slipped under the Aerial Lift Bridge this morning at 7:11AM to make it the first ocean going ship of the season to enter port.

The 652 foot  Federal Leda is flagged under Cyprus and will be loading grain for other world ports.

Harbor Traffic for Sunday 4/10/11

Heavy fog blanketed the harbor for much of the day, however, the cameras did catch most of the boat traffic.
Algosoo (CA) arrived at 00:08
CSL Tadoussac (CA ) departed at 00:51
Sam Laud (US) arrived at 04:15
American Spirit (US ) departed at 06:45

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Friday 4/8/2011

Alpena (US) arrived at 00:25
Canadian Olympic (CA) arrived at 07:10
Spruceglen (CA ) departed at 09:30
Cason J. Callaway (US ) departed at 16:25

Friday, April 8, 2011

Harbor traffic for Thursday 4/7/11

American Century (US) departed at 02:20
Capt. Henry Jackman (CA) arrived at 05:40
American Integrity (US) arrived at 12:40
Cason J. Callaway (US) arrived at 14:45
Mapleglen departed at 17:00
Capt. Henry Jackman depart at 20:00
Spruceglen arrived at 20:30
American Integrity depart at 23:00

Sunrise Arrival!

The Canadian Olympic arrived at 7:10AM Today with warm temperatures and clear skies.

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Wednesday 4/6/11

The big boats are in town!
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 02:57
American Century (US) arrived at 11:12
Mesabi Miner (US) arrived at 14:10
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) departed at 17:00

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Tuesday 4/5/11

Presque Isle depart at 18:00

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

About the recent photographs

There have been some inquires lately about the remote controlled helicopter that I have uses for some of the recent pictures.
CLICK HERE for more information about the craft and how it is used.

Harbor Traffic for Monday 4/4/2011

Mapleglen (CA) arrived Duluth at 08:23
CSL Niagara (CA ) departed Duluth at 11:30
Presque Isle arrived at  21:30 to load iron ore pellets

Monday, April 4, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Sunday 4/3/2011

Hillside cameras did not operate due to low visibility; Lake Superior Maritime Museum camera was only camera with a view.

James R. Barker (US ) departed at 12:13
CSL Niagara  arrive Duluth at 18:15 for DMIR to load iron ore pellets.

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Saturday 4/2/2011

The James R Barker was the only boat arriving or departing Duluth on Saturday. The Barker, which arrived at 8PM, was built in 1976 at Lorain Ohio, and was the 3rd 1000-footer to sail the Great Lakes and the first one to be built entirely on the Great Lakes.

Friday, April 1, 2011

Harbor Traffic for Thursday 3/31/11

CSL Tadoussac (CA) arrived at 11:20
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 15:10
Algowood (CA) arrived at 17:10