Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Monday 12/27/2010

Paul R. Tregurtha arrived at 06:08
Cason J. Callaway arrived at 12:00
Cason J. Callaway departed at 15:05
Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 19:00

Monday, December 27, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Sunday 12/26/2010

James R. Barker departed at 08:25
Mesabi Miner departed at 11:05
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. departed at 19:10
Philip R. Clarke arrived at 20:30

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Saturday 12/25/2010

Charles M. Beeghly departed at 08:15
Mesabi Miner arrived  at 08:45
Edgar B. Speer departed at 14:30
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. arrived at 15:40

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Friday 12/24/2010

CSL Assiniboine (CA ) departed at 13:25
Edgar B. Speer (US) arrived at 16:35
James R. Barker arrived at 18:30

Friday, December 24, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Thursday 12/23/2010

Thursday, December 23, 2010 - Arrivals and Departures

Indiana Harbor (US) departed at 01:27
American Century (US) arrived at 05:25
CSL Assiniboine (CA) arrived at 11:04
Mesabi Miner (US ) departed at 12:02
Canadian Olympic departed at 16:00
American Century at depart  22:30

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Wednesday 12/22/2010

Paul R. Tregurtha departed at 06:20
Indiana Harbor arrived at 09:05
Mesabi Miner arrive at 18:30
Canadian Olympic  arrive Duluth at 20:00
Indiana Harbor departed at21:30

Monday, December 20, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Sunday 12/19/2010

Walter J. McCarthy Jr.departed at 12:55
Buffalo arrived at 13:05
Algomarine arrive Duluth bet 18:30
James R. Barker  departed at 19:20

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Friday 12/17/2010

Indiana Harbor (US ) departed Duluth at 13:30
Mesabi Miner (US) arrived Duluth at 14:05
Miedwie departed at 16:00
Nogat departed at 17:00 -- the last outbound saltwater vessel of the season.

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Tuesday 12/14/2010

Miedwie (Bah)
Michiganborg (Dutch)
James R. Barker (US ) departed Duluth at 05:09
Miedwie (Bah) arrived Duluth at 10:30
Michiganborg (Dutch) arrived Duluth at 16:05 

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Monday, December 13, 2010

Northern Exposure!

For several days in December, the weather gets cold enough to raise "Sea Smoke" off the surface.  The air temperature must be well below zero for this weather phenomenon to occur.

Although batteries don't last long in the frigid air, it's well worth the numb fingers.
Here is a video of the scene! Music by: Mary Beth Carlson

Here are some images taken at the same time.

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Friday 12/10/2010

John J. Boland (US) arrived at 03:25
Heloise (Pan) arrived at 06:25
John J. Boland (US) departed at 13:35
St. Clair (US ) departed at 15:40
Jana (Antigua) departed at 18:30

Friday, December 10, 2010

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Saturday 12/4/2010

James R. Barker (US) departed at 03:00
John J. Boland (US ) departed at 08:15
Isa arrived at 16:30
Barbro     departed 16:45
Indiana Harbor arrives at 22:00

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Friday 12/3/2010

St. Clair (US) arrived at 00:25
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. (US ) departed at 06:15
James R. Barker (US) arrived at 14:45
St. Clair departed at 19:30     
John J. Boland arrived at 22:00

Friday, December 3, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Thursday 12/2/2010

John B. Aird (CA ) departed at 06:00
American Century (US) arrived at 06:40
Quebecois (CA ) departed at 08:00
Walter J. McCarthy Jr. (US) arrived at 14:10
American Century departed at 19:30 
Federal Schelde departed at 19:30

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Wednesday 12/1/2010

CSL Tadoussac (CA) arrived at 04:35
Mesabi Miner (US ) departed at 07:50
James R. Barker (US) arrived at 09:05
John B. Aird (CA) arrived at 11:20
CSL Tadoussac (CA) departed at 17:40
James R. Barker (US) departed at 18:45

Bentleyville Virtual Tour!

You have been seeing glimpses of Bentleyville "Tour of Lights" located at Bayfront Park in Duluth over the past several weeks.

Bentleyville is a wonderful place to visit and get into the Christmas Spirit. If you haven't has a chance to stop by in person, you can take this "Virtual Tour" and enjoy Tour of Lights. Click on the picture or this link 
 You can also visit the photo gallery.
Enjoy!  Dennis

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Harbor Traffic for Tuesday 11/30/2010

American Mariner (US) arrived at 05:55
H. Lee White (US) arrived at 12:35
Paul R. Tregurtha (US) arrived at 13:15
Maritime Trader (CA ) departed at 20:00
Mesabi Miner arrived Duluth at 20:30
H. Lee White departed at 21:30
Federal Schelde arrive at 21:00
Sir Henry departed at 21:30
Maccoa departed at 22:30